Welcome to the Benefice of Upper Derwent

The Benefice of Upper Derwent is a group of five Church of England churches in the Diocese of York and part of the Deanery of Northern Ryedale. Four of our churches (Snainton, Brompton by Sawdon, Wykeham and Hutton Buscel) are scattered along the A170 between Pickering and Scarborough. The fifth at Langdale End is situated at the northern end of the parish of Wykeham not far from Hackness. All are on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. Our Parishes serve the small rural communities of Snainton, Wydale, Brompton, Sawdon, Ruston, Wykeham, North Moor, Hutton Buscel, West Ayton, and Langdale End.


Vicar:    Revd Stuart G. Hill BTh (Oxon.)


Stuart has been Vicar here at Upper Derwent since 2006. As part of his role as Vicar he is also a Foundation Governor at both Snainton CE Primary School and Wykeham CE Primary School. He trained for the priesthood at Ripon College Cuddesdon (Oxford) prior to being ordained Deacon in 1997 then Priest in 1998 at Durham Cathedral. He served as Assistant Curate as part of the Usworth Team Ministry (Washington, Tyne and Wear) before becoming Team Vicar at the Parish of Monkwearmouth (Sunderland) in 1999 where he was responsible for St Peter’s Church, Monkwearmouth.




Reader: Mrs Pat Wood



Sunday 6th January 2019


10.30 am

Benefice Eucharist

and farewell to our Vicar

Hutton Buscel